In order to give you a better service Edigem uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. I agree.

Art Deco Jewellery

The Art Deco design movement had its beginnings in the late 1910s and early 1920ies. Heavily influenced by the preceding Art Nouveau period, the movement’s official beginning can be traced back to the Exibition International des Arts Décoratifs et Industriel Modernes, which was held in Paris in 1925. The name Art Deco was derived from an abbreviation for this ground-breaking exhibition. Although the world was still recovering from the devastations of the First World War, the 1920ies were a time of economic prosperity and long accepted social standards were questioned and redefined.

 

The Art Deco style is as intimately linked to these roaring 20ies as the advent of jazz music and the flapper. The style, which found its way into architecture, art, fashion as well as jewellery, was characterised by its heavy use of geometric patterns, mixture of modern and traditional materials and a definite interest in ancient cultures and exoticism. For jewellery, the Art Deco style relied heavily on several distinguishable design elements. Most jewels crafted during this time were cast in platinum and the diamonds set into these works of art were often cut in the old European style. Geometric designs and filigree patterns are found very regularly in jewels created in the style of Art Deco.

 

For your pleasure, we have picked some of our favourite Art Deco jewels. Read on and enjoy with us the exciting optimism and ravishing beauty of the roaring 20ies.

Platinum Bracelet

This delicately crafted bracelet from the 1930ies is a perfect example for an Art Deco jewel. In it, several attributes typical for this style complement each other beautifully. Cast in platinum and featuring beautiful old-cut diamonds, the jewel shows a magnificent variety of geometric shapes and patterns. In its excitement and pure elegance, it perfectly represents what Art Deco jewellery is known for.

Ruby ring

The elongated triangular shapes in this stunning ring can be found not only in many Art Deco jewels, but also in the buildings designed in the 1920ies. One prominent example of a building designed in the Art Deco period is the famous Chrysler Building in New York. The triangular shapes are prominently displayed in the top part of the building. This precious ring features a magnificent Burmese ruby of 4.08 ct. Rubies from today’s Myanmar count among the most coveted gemstones in the world and the exotic nature of this precious gemstone’s origin is definitely fitting for a jewel crafted during the Art Deco period.

Diamond Pendant

Another important factor that distinguishes Art Deco jewellery is its filigree workmanship. In this beautiful pendant, delicate decorative motives complement each other and draw the eye towards the scintillating diamond in its centre.

Sapphire bracelet

A very special element typical for the Art Deco period can be seen in this bracelet. The precious blue sapphires in this beautiful bracelet from the early Art Deco period are calibré-cut, a cutting style that is intimately connected with Art Deco. Gemstones in this special cut are shaped with a particular jewellery design in mind and fit snuggly into the finished jewel. The gems are cut specifically to create one unbroken surface and not to allow for any space between the individual stones or the gems and the metal.  210 old-cut diamonds and seven beautiful natural pearls embrace the precious sapphires and give this unique jewel an elegant finishing touch.

Diamond Brooch

The last jewel in the Art Deco style we would like to present to you is special, because it was not created during the Art Deco period. The style has had several revivals since the 1930ies, when it largely disappeared because of the great depression and the rise of World War II only a few years later. This precious brooch was created in the 1950ies, its 188 baguette and brilliant-cut diamonds beautifully showcasing the geometrical shapes and intricate designs that distinguish the Art Deco style.

Close
- Contact -
Felder mit * müssen ausgefüllt werden – Danke

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google
Privacy Policy and
Terms of Service apply.

Edigem verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen den bestmöglichen Service zu gewährleisten. Wenn Sie auf der Seite weitersurfen stimmen Sie der Cookie-Nutzung zu. Ich stimme zu.

Art Déco Schmuckstücke

Die Art Déco Bewegung hatte ihre Anfänge in den späten 1910er und frühen 1920er Jahren und löste somit den ihr vorangegangenen Jugendstil ab. Der offizielle Beginn der Bewegung lässt sich auf die Exhibition International des Arts Décoratifs et Industriel Modernes zurückführen, die 1925  in Paris stattfand. Obwohl sich die Welt noch immer von den Verwüstungen des Ersten Weltkrieges erholte, waren die 1920er Jahre eine Zeit des wirtschaftlichen Aufschwungs. Lang akzeptierte soziale Standards wurden in Frage gestellt und neu definiert.

 

Der Art Déco Stil ist mit diesen goldenen 20er Jahren so eng verbunden wie Jazzmusik und der Flapper. Der Stil, der seinen Weg in Architektur, Kunst, Mode und Schmuck fand, zeichnete sich durch seine geometrischer Muster, die Mischung moderner und traditioneller Materialien und ein ausgeprägtes Interesse an alten Kulturen und Exotik aus. Bei Schmuckstücken stützte sich der Art Déco Stil stark auf mehrere unterscheidbare Designelemente. Die meisten Schmuckstücke dieser Zeit wurden in Platin gefertigt und die in diesen Kunstwerken gefassten Diamanten wurden oft im alten europäischen Stil geschliffen. Auch geometrische Designs und filigrane Muster finden sich regelmässig in Art Déco Schmuckstücken wieder.

 

Wir freuen uns, Ihnen einige unserer Lieblingsjuwelen im Art Déco Stil zu präsentieren. Lesen Sie weiter und genießen Sie mit uns den aufregenden Optimismus und die hinreissende Schönheit der goldenen 20er Jahre.

Bracelet mit Diamanten

Dieses filigran gearbeitete Armband aus den 1930er Jahren ist ein perfektes Beispiel für ein Art Déco-Schmuckstück. In ihm ergänzen sich mehrere für diesen Stil typische Attribute auf wunderbare Weise. In Platin gegossen und mit Altschliff-Diamanten besetzt, zeigt das Schmuckstück eine herrliche Vielfalt an geometrischen Formen und Mustern. Elegant und zugleich aufregend repräsentiert es perfekt das, wofür Art Déco steht.

Rubinring

Die langgestreckten Dreiecksformen dieses atemberaubenden Rings finden sich nicht nur in vielen Art Déco-Schmuckstücken, sondern auch in den Gebäuden der 1920er Jahren wieder. Ein prominentes Beispiel für ein Gebäude aus der Zeit des Art Déco ist das berühmte Chrysler Building in New York. Die dreieckigen Formen sind im oberen Teil des Gebäudes prominent dargestellt. Dieser kostbare Ring ist besetzt mit einem prächtigen, burmesischen Rubin von 4,08 ct. Rubine aus dem heutigen Myanmar zählen zu den begehrtesten Edelsteinen der Welt und die exotische Natur des Ursprungs dieses kostbaren Edelsteins passt definitiv zu einem Juwel, das während der Art-Déco-Periode gefertigt wurde.

Diamant-Pendant

Ein weiterer wichtiger Faktor, der Art Déco-Schmuck auszeichnet, ist seine filigrane Verarbeitung. In diesem anmutigen Anhänger ergänzen sich zarte, dekorative Motive und lenken den Blick auf den funkelnden Diamanten in seinem Zentrum.

Bracelet mit Saphiren

Die kostbaren, blauen Saphire in diesem Bracelet aus der frühen Art Déco-Periode sind im „calibré cut“ geschliffen. Dieser Schleifstiel ist eng mit dem Art Déco verbunden. Die Edelsteine in diesem besonderen Schliff sind nach einem spezifischen Schmuckdesign geformt und fügen sich harmonisch in das fertige Schmuckstück ein. Die Edelsteine werden speziell so geschliffen, dass eine ununterbrochene Oberfläche entsteht. 210 Altschliff-Diamanten und sieben wunderschöne Naturperlen umrahmen die kostbaren Saphire und verleihen diesem einzigartigen Juwel einen eleganten Akzent.

Brosche mit Diamanten

Das letzte Juwel im Art Déco-Stil, das wir Ihnen vorstellen möchten, unterscheidet sich von den übrigen. Denn es wurde nicht in der Art Déco Zeit geschaffen. Der Stil hat seit den 1930er Jahren, als er wegen der Weltwirtschaftskriese und dem Beginn des Zweiten Weltkriegs weitgehend verschwand, mehrere Revivals erlebt. Diese kostbare Brosche wurde in den 1950er Jahren geschaffen. Ihre 188 Baguette- und Brillantschliff-Diamanten bringen die geometrischen Formen und komplexen Designs des Art Déco-Stils wunderbar zur Geltung.

Schliessen
- Kontakt -
Felder mit * müssen ausgefüllt werden – Danke

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google
Privacy Policy and
Terms of Service apply.